Community Outreach


The COT programme was initiated in 1993 by ANPPCAN Regional. This was in response to findings of a study carried out in 1990/91 that elicited the fact that the majority of street children in Nairobi came from the informal settlements. It was deemed that addressing the adverse living conditions in the slums would be one strategy that would help alleviate the ever-growing problem of street children.


ANPPCAN designs and hosts on the job 9-months training built to provide community development practitioners with the necessary knowledge, attitude and skills, to enable them effectively mobilize communities towards addressing issues that negatively affect them. Initial training was done in Korogocho informal settlement, Nairobi. Later, the programme shifted training to Kibera informal settlement where it has been carrying out Community Organizers (CO) training for a decade now.

CBO Strategy

Through the aforementioned training, the community development practitioners tactfully steer the communities into the formation of Community Based Organizations (CBOs). These CBOs become formidable recognized entities in the settlements that address multi-dimensional issues ranging from environment to Income Generation issues. They function through the formation of various sectorial sub-committees.

To-date, the following 8 CBOs are in existence courtesy of ANPPCAN regional initiatives:

1. TAK – Korogocho (a curve of the current Children and Youths Empowerment Network; CYEN)
2. Ushirika wa Maendeleo na Maisha Kianda (UMMK) - Kianda, Kibera
3. Lindi Umoja Usafi na Maendeleo (LUUM)
4. Mashimoni - Kambi Muru Ushirika wa Usafi (MKUU) - Mashimoni & Kambi Muru, Kibera
5. Makina Umoja Usafi na Maendeleo (MUUM) - Makina, Kibera
6. Ushirika wa Usafi Laini Saba (UULS) - Laini Saba, Kibera
7. Silanga Umoja na Maendeleo (SUM) - Silanga, Kibera
8. Gatwekera Umoja Usafi na Maendeleo (GUUM) - Gatwekera, Kibera

Shift to Korogocho Slums

In 2005, the programme shifted its activities  a new informal settlement in Nairobi known as Mukuru Slums. The COT programme focuses on three (3) major villages namely Mukuru Kayaba, Mukuru kwa Reuben and Mukuru kwa Njenga. Each of these villages is further subdivided into 7 clusters (zones), in total, the COT programmes works in 21 clusters zones.

In Korogocho, the programme provides on job training to community development workers drawn from different organizations (NGOs, government agencies, local government, faith based organizations and CBOs) in Community Organisation (CO).

In the process of training actual community organization takes place. CBOs are formed and community programmes initiated.

Community Organisation process has enabled the Korogocho Community to realize its potential, identify its development priorities, and engage with others towards resolving other issues of development.

Community organization process has been widely accepted within the development arena as an approach that is effective. It has enabled communities to work together in their own organizations (CBOs/Peoples organizations) to resolve issues affecting them.

Close this Page